Nebulous Response by Mike Swecker (Time to Revive)

On May 25, 2015, [updated 26th] I wrote an article titled, “Denouncing Time to Revive & What I Mean by Non-Denominational

In that article, I asked for a clear statement from Time to Revive that confirms they believe Jesus is the only way of salvation. Furthermore, I asked that they make a clear statement indicating their unwillingness to partner in Christian ministry with those who “may tend to struggle with saying Jesus is THE way, THE truth and THE life, as the Evangelicals do.”

Below is Mike Swecker’s entire response, written via email. Neither Mr. Swecker’s response, nor Time to Revive’s faith statement uphold Christ’s exclusivity as Savior… or indicate that Time to Revive refuses to partner in Christian ministry with those who deny Christ as THE exclusive means of salvation. Time to Revive’s statement of faith affirms only that Jesus is “a rescue”—not THE rescue but “a rescue”—from the curse… not from sins or the sin nature… but the from the curse:

Jesus died on the cross to offer a rescue from the curse.6

While Mr. Swecker’s response does acknowledge that Jesus is the only name that brings unity to the church, biblical Christians will note that our unity exists in Christ’s Name, not for the sake of unity itself… as the apostate, Pope Francis, says (10:12 onward in video). Rather, biblical Christian unity exists because:

…there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved. Acts 4:12 NASB

I also add that the Time to Revive faith statement is equally as nebulous when it comes to the nature of God’s Word. “God is revealed in the Holy Word, the Bible” is a far cry from the Apostle Paul’s and Peter’s statement that “all Scripture is God-breathed…” (2 Tim. 3:16) …”for no prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God” (2 Pet. 1:21).

[Before he sent his (below) response, I notified Mike Swecker and Time to Revive via phone conversation and email that I would post his written response in entirety.]

_______________begin message________________

From: Mike Swecker

To: Sam Kean

RE: An Appeal for the Time to Revive Team

May 26, 2015 at 10:54 PM

Hello Sam,

Im pleased to announce that we finished another day of ministry in South Bend with many more testimonies to the healthy unity that only Jesus brings as well as what the Holy Spirit is doing as people are saved, healed, and delivered in His Name. Jesus, the Name above all names is the only Way, Truth, Life that brings unity to the church. I would encourage you to come and see this for yourself. Maybe we cold grab a coffee or meal together.

Below you’ll find Time to Revives Faith Statement.

May the peace of Jesus rest on you.

Mike

……………………………………………..
Time to Revive Faith Statement

There is one God In three persons God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit.1

God is revealed in the Holy Word, the Bible. The words of the Bible are powerful, transformative, and true.2

The Word declares that God created all things and that humanity was made in God’s likeness.3

Humanity chose to rebel against God, and this choice ushered in a curse of sin upon humanity and destruction on the world.14

God did not abandon humanity, but instead He sent Jesus into the world to save humanity from the curse.5

Jesus died on the cross to offer a rescue from the curse.6

Humanity’s curse and punishment became His, though He was innocent.7

Jesus was buried and His followers mourned, But on the third day, He rose up from death in victory;8

And those who believe in Jesus are members of His eternal kingdom.9

Jesus now dwells with God in heaven, sitting at His right hand, Having sent His Holy Spirit into the world.10

The Holy Spirit now works in humanity through those who believe by faith, Revealing God’s truth and direction,11

Sealing us in God’s love and promise of eternal life;12

The work of the Holy Spirit empowers individuals and the corporate Church,13

Perfecting and freeing believers to become more like Christ,14

Giving believers gifts with which to reveal the Truth.15

The followers of Jesus have a message of hope to share,16

And as they live as disciples, they ought to lead and disciple others to God.17

God is the giver of life18

And revival is necessary to those who do not exhibit life and active faith,19

To awaken them to the living truth and the presence of God.20

Jesus will return soon to judge the living and the dead.21

Those judged righteous by faith will inherit a new, perfect kingdom.22

Those who chose not to put faith in Jesus will be separated from Him.23

He comes quickly, and the time is now to awaken the world to His truth.

1 John 14:15-18

2 Hebrews 4:12, II Timothy 3:16-17

3 Genesis 1:1, 1:26, Colossians 1:16

4 Genesis 3

5 John 3:16-17

6 Colossians 1:19-20

7 Isaiah 53:3-9, Galatians 3:13-14

8 Luke 24:1-7

9 John 10:27-28, Hebrews 12:28

10 Hebrews 10:12, John 14:12-18

11 John 16:13-14

12 Ephesians 1:13-14, II Corinthians 1:21-22, Romans 5:5

13 Acts 1:8

14 Titus 3:4-6, Galatians 5:22-26

15 I Corinthians 12:4-11

16 Romans 1:16-17

17 Matthew 5:16, II Timothy 4:1-2

18 Genesis 2:7, Romans 4:17, I Timothy 6:13

19 Psalm 119:25

20 Isaiah 60:1-2, John 1:1-5, Psalm 140:13

21 Revelation 22:7, I Peter 4:5

22 Revelation

23 Revelation 20:12-15

Mike Swecker

Prayer & Freedom ~ Time To Revive

p: 214.295.4277 | m: 612.968.9618 e: mswecker@timetorevive.com | w: http://www.timetorevive.com a: PO Box 835943, Richardson, TX 75083

There is ONLY two times to pray, when you need it, and when you don’t.

_______________end message______________

4 thoughts on “Nebulous Response by Mike Swecker (Time to Revive)

  1. Carrie

    So your saying that you don’t believe that Jesus is THE savior?

    This whole blog series seems like a rant about nothing that makes sense to anyone but you.

    I’ve never been to Revive, but isn’t it about unity and love? Why are you bashing and making mountains out of molehills?

    Are people being saved from Revive? Has it been effective?

    If you don’t like it, don’t go. Quit attacking people that do.

    1. Carrie, thanks for commenting. To answer your question, Time to Revive has failed to state that Jesus is THE (as in one-and-only) savior. That is a big problem for those who believe Jesus is the one and only savior.

      I was also part of Time to Revive in Bloomington, Indiana. As a pastor, I have the responsibility to warn about those “Christians” and “churches” who deny or redefine Jesus.

  2. Jason Whiteaker

    Posted in your other blog re: TTR and the Convergence Movement. Not sure if it was actually posted, so I’ll re-post here as well. -Jason

    THANK YOU so much for your bold (and unpopular) description of Time to Revive. I was briefly involved in TTR when it came to Fort Wayne, IN. I had recently been attending a new church, and this church was “on fire” for TTR. They were craving the TTR “spirit” to come to Fort Wayne from Goshen, IN. I heard of Amish people who were acting/speaking like evangelical Christians, arm-in-arm with mainstream Christianity. Unity, seemingly above all else, was emphasized. Yes, evangelism is discussed and a seemingly important aspect of TTR. However, something didn’t sit right with me when unity with other faiths was pushed so hard. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but something seemed off. During some of the initial meetings, I saw all kinds of traditions represented, including denominations with liberal bents (women pastors were in attendance, groups that support homosexuality, emergent church components, and some seemingly extreme examples of the charismatic movement). In my mind, the two words most associated with TTR are (their somewhat unbiblical concept of) “unity”, and “emotionalism”.

    I attempted to become part of the discipleship follow up teams that work with TTR “converts”. I played vmail tag with someone from TTR, and they were so hurried to talk with me. I never received any names to follow up with, and things halted right there. I mentioned to my pastor that I wasn’t getting any traction, but I ended up tying that seeming inability to follow up with my overall unsettledness. I believe this was a confirmation that TTR has some fundamental issues, and, that it was not best for me to go down that road.

    I somewhat accidentally came across this blog post, and I was thrilled to see someone put some context on this “unease” with TTR. I can’t remember exactly who I heard make mention of the “three streams, one river” concept, but I heard it stated as God had given this person a vision (in the middle of the night) of this “three streams, on river” concept. Being that I live in Fort Wayne, I passed it off as a reference to the river system in Fort Wayne – we have three rivers that converge downtown. I took it to mean that this person felt that something big was coming to town. After reading this blog, I don’t believe that this individual had a vision from God…besides, visions/impressions directly from God are not normative. Anyone who claims new revelation from God is an immediate red flag to me, but I gave this person the benefit of the doubt. However, I can now see that this person was seemingly presuming on the Lord, and, recited the same ecumenical language unique to TTR. I want nothing to do with a questionable “move” of God. Besides, you don’t schedule a genuine move of God in some locale. As I understand revival, it first starts with repentance within the body of Christ. We don’t gin up emotion and excitement, along with a schedule of when we expect God to act. That in and of itself should be enough of a warning with TTR’s approach.

    We live in dangerous, apostate times. I passed this link to my pastor and two of my friends at this church. No one even acknowledged receiving the link. It’s OK…I’m not going to be divisive, but I have stopped attending that church and am currently looking for another church home. It saddens me that people who claim to be strong in faith and devoted to serving our Lord won’t even take the time to review something that challenges their “pet project”. We are called to unity WITHIN THE BODY, not with unequally yoked belief systems. Church is not for new converts or to be “seeker friendly”…it’s to build and equip (in discipleship) the saints so we can go and fulfill the Great Commission. In the “City of Churches”, it’s so hard to find a group that worships in Spirit and in Truth. I know they exist, but the corruption, apostasy, and lack of commitment to the Truth is rampant in Fort Wayne and in America in general. Again, I thank you for putting this information out there. I know you’ve taken some lumps for what you’ve written, but I commend you for your courage to speak the truth in love, and warn the saints of emotional pursuits of our Lord and playing fast and loose with Truth. May the Lord richly bless your ministry, and again, THANK YOU!

    -Jason

Leave a Reply

